HomePunjabA glance of women power in Punjab; holding top positions in every...

A glance of women power in Punjab; holding top positions in every field

A glance of women power in Punjab; holding top positions in every field

Kanwar Inder Singh/ royalpatiala.in

On the occasion of International Women’s Day, a glance at the women’s, who holds the top positions in Punjab, in every field. They are the power centres of Punjab

Member Parliaments –Punjab has two women MPs in Lok Sabha-Preneet Kaur and Harsimrat Kaur Badal and one MP in Rajya Sabha-Ambika Soni

Punjab Cabinet Ministers– Punjab has two women as cabinet minters-Aruna Chaudhary and Razia Sultana

Chief secretary- Vini Mahajan, IAS, is a top most and most powerful bureaucrat of Punjab. She is the chief secretary of Punjab.

Punjab police– Punjab police have four ADGP’s as women officers-Gurpreet Kaur Deo, Shashi Prabha Diwedi, Anita Punj and V Neeraja

District & Sessions Judge- As per available information five districts -Gurdaspur, Hoshiarpur, Jalandhar, Mansa, Tarn Taran are headed by women judges at district & session judge.

Divisional Commissioner– Gurpreet Kaur Sapra, IAS is the Jalandhar divisional commissioner, having jurisdiction over seven districts of Punjab

DC’s -Punjab’s five districts- Sonali Giri (Rupnagar), Amrit Kaur Gill  (Fatehgarh Sahib), Dr Shena Aggarwal (Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar), Deepti Uppal ( Kapurthala), Apneet Riyait (Hoshiarpur) are being headed by women IAS officers.

SSP’s- Women IPS officers are not less competent than their male counterparts. Four  districts, namely  Alka Meena ( Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar), Kanwardeep Kaur (Kapurthala), Amneet Kondal (Fatehgarh Sahib) and D. Sudarvizh (Sri Muktsar Sahib)  are being headed by women IPS officers

Public Relations Department-One of the key departments, under the direct command of the chief minister, is the public relations department. This key department is controlled by women officers. The director is Anindita Mitra (IAS) and newly elevated additional director public relations- Dr Senu Duggal as additional secretary public relations. The department has women DPRO’s, IPRO’s.

PSERC-Punjab state electricity regulatory commission, a body who finalizes the electricity tariff of the state, is headed by Kusumjit Sidhu

Income Tax– Sunita Puri is the Principal Chief Commissioner of Income Tax NWR, Chandigarh

Taxation Department-Lady officers-Dr Ambika Sharanjeet Kaur, Brahmneet Kaur holds the key designation in state taxation department.

Excise Department-Lady officers-Preeti Yadav, Navdeep Bhinder, Ravi Inder Kalra helps in filling government coffers.

AG (Audit) Punjab- Punam Pandey holds the key department as Principal AG (Audit), Punjab

Health Services– Dr Adesh Kang is director health services and family welfare

Radiation Oncologist– Dr Harjot Kaur Bagga is a well-known name, in treating cancer patients. She is working in the Department of Radiation Oncology, Rajindra Hospital. She remained head of the department.

A glance of women power in Punjab; holds top positions in every field

SGPC- Bibi Jagir Kaur is the president of the sikh religious body, mini parliament -shiromani gurudwara prabandhak committee (SGPC)

Vice Chancellor- Ravneet Kaur, IAS is the vice chancellor of Punjabi University.

DG Science City- Dr Neelima Jerath is the director general of prestigious Pushpa Gujral Science City at Kapurthala

Press Information Bureau-  Devpreet Singh holds the charge of Press Information Bureau , North region at Chandigarh

Newspaper Editor– Manraj Grewal is the resident editor of The Indian Express, Chandigarh edition. Jagjit Kaur is the managing editor of Rozana Spokesman newspaper.

SGPC Education Director-Dr Tejinder Kaur Dhaliwal is the director education of SGPC, running about a university, 31 colleges and 50 Schools which include two Medical Colleges; one Dental College; One Nursing college; four Colleges providing Technical Engineering Courses.

Charitable Trust- Pingalwara-Dr. (Ms.) Inderjit kaur is the patron-president of All India Pingalwara Charitable Society (Regd.), Amritsar since 1992. Dr Harsh Charitable Trust is run by Dr Harshinder Kaur, a haven for poor girls, is paying for their education, to make poor girls alive to their rights by opening up educational avenues for them.

State Planning Board– Rajinder Kaur Bhattal is the chairperson of Punjab State Planning Board

Women Commission– Manisha Gulati heads state Women commission

Entrepreneur- Lots of women entrepreneurs are the jewels in the Punjab crown. Rajni Bector is one of them, who got Padma Shri award , this year on Republic Day.

Punjab Khadi Board-Mamta Dutta holds the reins of Khadi Village and Industries board

Besides them, women’s are doing great in every field, department, be it engineering-PWD, B&R, Irrigation, police, administrative, health, education, social security, politics, pollution control board, law, judiciary, media, defence, sports, NGO’s , corporate , civil services, accounts. CAs, CSs, self-help groups etc.

March 8,2021


Most Popular

Google Play Store