HomePunjabDAE-BRNS Symposium on Nuclear Physics at Thapar

DAE-BRNS Symposium on Nuclear Physics at Thapar

The largest nuclear physics symposium of India is being organized by School of Physics and Materials Science, Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology (TIET), Patiala during 20-24 December 2017. This is co-organised by Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) and Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences (BRNS), who every year organises such symposium in different academic and research institutes in India.

The current DAE-BRNS Symposium on Nuclear Physics-2017 is the 62nd version of this series, which was initiated by the father of nuclear physics in India, Dr. Homi Bhabha under DAE, Government of India.  A pre-symposium orientation program on “Basics of super heavy element research” is also arranged on 19th December, 2017. More than 500 academicians, scientists and research scholars from different parts of India are participating in the nuclear extravaganza. Moreover, 10-15 leading foreign scientists are showcasing their current research findings.

The symposium will cover the most recent topics of research in the field of nuclear physics such as nuclear structure, nuclear reactions, astrophysics, hadron physics, relativistic nuclear physics and quark gluon plasma, electroweak interaction in nuclei, nuclear instrumentation and techniques. Apart from the classical nuclear physics, the symposium aims to address the recent application oriented issues, like, Nuclear power, research reactors, medical and industrial fields, radio-isotopes used in cancer therapy. Inputs from nuclear physics research in nuclear astrophysics, is very important in understanding our cosmos and its evolution. There is a huge, yet untapped potential for high impact applications, from the studies of nuclear physics. The symposium is also highlighting recent developments of nuclear astrophysics.

Symposium on Nuclear Physics-2017
Dr. Andrey Popekov from JINR, Dubna, Russia is delivering a talk at Thapar

This symposium may bring a new wave in nuclear research in the region and may lead India for more self-sustained future.

Details of Lectures & Organizers:

There will be a special evening talk by a distinguished speaker Prof. R. Rajaraman of JNU, New Delhi, on the subject “Pauli Principle in the Interior of Pulsars and Fundamental Issues of Elementarity”. The Keynote address will be given by Prof. Amit Roy, former director of IUAC, New Delhi,  on “Open Problems in Nuclear Physics”.  Research scientists from the leading institutes such as Bhabha Atomic Research Center (BARC), Tata Institute of Research (TIFR), Variable Energy Cyclotron Center (VECC), Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics (SINP), Inter University Accelerator Center (IUAC), UGC-DAE-CSR, IITs and IISERs and academicians from more than 50 universities from different parts of India will be presenting their current research work in coming days. Leaders from Indian image science projects like FAIR, CERN, ITER (where India is partner), and INO etc. will also grace this conference. The symposium will provide an ideal platform for interacting with extensive users of Nuclear Physics Research Instruments, Nuclear Electronics, Nuclear Targets, Accelerator Technology, Vacuum Technology, Data Acquisitions, Software developments and other field of physics, engineering and technology. The professors, engineers, technologist and researchers of the university/Institutes from all over India and abroad will participate in the symposium.  A symposium of this large scale is an excellent opportunity for industry and academia who are involved in higher education, experimental research programmes and technology development – to participate and interact.

The National Organising Committee and the Advisory Committee, instituted by the DAE, and the Local Organising Committee,  instituted by TIET , oversee the preparations for the symposium. Convener of the National Organising Committee is Dr.Bency John, BARC, Mumbai and Convener of Local Organising Committee is Prof. Manoj Sharma, TIET, Patiala. Dr.Alok Saxena, and Dr. V. Jha, from BARC Mumbai, are the Chairman and Seratary, respectively, of the National Organising Committee.



Most Popular

Google Play Store