HomeIndiaBig jolt to congress before MP Rajya Sabha elections; MLA's resign from...

Big jolt to congress before MP Rajya Sabha elections; MLA’s resign from congress

Big jolt to congress before MP Rajya Sabha elections; MLA’s resign from congress

Kanwar Inder Singh/ royalpatiala.in/ Chandigarh

Jyotiraditya Scindia, former Member Parliament from Guna (Madhya Pradesh), along with MLA’s has resigned from the Congress, ahead of Rajya Sabha elections in Madhya Pradesh. Speculations are high that he along with MLA’s who resigned from congress are joining BJP.

He, along with19 MLA went incommunicado. As per the sources these Congress MLAs has also send their resignations from the assembly to the Speaker.These MLAs have also shared a picture of themselves on social media together. In this picture these 19 MLAs are seen sitting with resignation in their hands.

Scindia posted his letter without additional comment on his Twitter page today, addressed to Congress interim chief Sonia Gandhi, Jyotiraditya Scindia wrote, “…as you well know, this is a path that has been drawing itself out over the last year.”

The message flashed shortly after meeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Delhi, intensifying speculation that he will join the BJP ahead of Rajya Sabha elections in Madhya Pradesh, and help the saffron party topple the state government as Chief Minister Kamal Nath’s government have a thin majority in the House.

He also wrote in his resignation letter” “While my aim and purpose remain the same as it has always been from the very beginning, to serve the people of my state and country, I believe I am unable to do this anymore within this party.”

Within minutes, KC Venugopal said Sonia Gandhi has expelled Jyotiraditya Scindia “with immediate effect for anti-party activities”.

Big jolt to congress before Rajya Sabha elections; Scindia resign from congress

As per the sources, a section of Congress leaders demanded that Priyanka Gandhi Vadra be nominated from the congress ruled Madhya Pradesh for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls, as the Rajya Sabha terms of Congress veteran Digvijay Singh, and BJP leaders Prabhat Jha and Satyanarayan Jatiya will end on 9 April.. The nominations for the Rajya Sabha polls scheduled on 26 March.

As per the arithmetic in the 230-member Madhya Pradesh Assembly, the two parties are sure to win one Rajya Sabha seat each, but a tussle is likely for the third seat. While the Congress has 114 MLAs, the opposition BJP has 107 legislators. But with this defection by Scindia will change the whole arithmetic.



Most Popular

Google Play Store