HomeUncategorizedCentral university of Punjab commenced India's first virtual Science Leadership Workshop

Central university of Punjab commenced India’s first virtual Science Leadership Workshop

Central university of Punjab commenced India’s first virtual Science Leadership Workshop

Kanwar Inder Singh/ royalpatiala.in/ Chandigarh

Central University of Punjab Bathinda (CUPB) began India’s first seven-day online ‘Science Leadership Workshop’ (SLW) from 22nd June under the guidance of honourable Vice-Chancellor Prof R.K. Kohli. The Programme is supported by four prestigious Science Academies of India (Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi, The National Academy of Sciences, India, Allahabad, and Indian National Young Academy of Sciences (INYAS), New Delhi). The resource persons of this SLW are eminent Scientists and Science Experts representing Leading Science Institutes from India & Abroad. The objective of this Programme is to train future science leaders & enhance the skills of young Ph.D. Supervisors. The Inaugural Session was presided by Prof Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology, GOI. More than 20,000 participants from different countries across the world, comprising young scientists, young science faculty, and research scholars, are attending this mega science event vie online mode.

At the start of the inaugural session, Prof R.K. Kohli, Vice-Chancellor, CUPB, and the Convener of this Workshop welcomed the guest speakers, and participants. He thanked all four prestigious science academies for their association in this programme, and complimented the organising team for putting their hard efforts and generating a tremendous response. While highlighting University’s Achievements, he informed that that CUPB is the youngest university to be ranked twice among India’s Top 100 University by NIRF in last two years. He mentioned that this Science Leadership Workshop is the first of its kind programme, that provides an opportunity for young science faculty and research scholars to get training for future science leadership roles from the present acclaimed Science Leaders.

The keynote speaker of the inaugural session was Prof Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary DST, who is the fellow of all four science academies of India, and winner of many prestigious awards including Bhatnagar Prize, Infosys Prize, TWAS Prize, and H.K. Firodia Award. In his address, he mentioned that scientific leadership should be adopted at an individual level, at the department level, at the institutional level, where we all need to work in cooperation with each other to achieve the organisation’s broader objective. He expressed his belief that this workshop will develop the scientific leadership skills of participants, and will help them to prepare for higher leadership roles in the field of science.


Prof Renu Swaroop, Secretary DBT, mentioned that this workshop is an innovative attempt during COVID-19 pandemic to connect to the larger communities through online platforms and train them about science leadership. The other special guests of the opening session were Prof Ramakrishna Wusurika, (Dean School of Basic & Applied Sciences, CUPB), Prof Anjana Munshi (Dean Research Research, CUPB), Dr Chandra Shekhar Sharma (Chairperson, INYAS) and Prof Gagandeep Kang.

Dr Felix Bast, Workshop Co-ordinator, informed that this one-week SLW would include Twenty-seven interactive lectures on vital aspects of science and research. He added, that the resource persons of this SLW include several internationally acclaimed Science Leaders including Prof. CNR Rao, Bharat Ratna Awardee, Prof Ashutosh Sharma, Prof Chandrima Saha (First Women president of INSA), Prof Dipander Chatterji, Padam Shrii Awardee, Prof Gagandeep Kang (first Indian Women Scientist to become fellow of prestigious Royal Society of London), Ms Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw (Founder and Chairperson, Biocon India Limited), Prof R.K. Kohli (VC, CUPB),  Prof. Magdalena Skipper (Chief Editor, Nature), Prof Ram Ramaswamy (Ex-President, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore), Prof. Renu Swarup (Secretary DBT), Prof. Shekhar C. Mande (DG, CSIR), Prof Shabana Sharma (TIFR Mumbai), Prof Shubha Tale (TIRF Mumbai), and many other dignitaries. He added, the list of topics that will be covered in this Lecture Series includes Critical Thinking, Group Communication, Problem Solving, Creativity & Innovation, Time Management, Risk-Taking, Mentoring, Team Work, Coping up with mental stress as a Scientist, Flexibility, Helping Ph.D. Students for emotional well-being, Decision Making, Active Listening & Empathy, Women in Science, Cross-cultural Communication, Lab Culture etc.

Dr Felix thanked all the resource persons for their association. He informed that this workshop is entirely free and open to all. Participants will receive digitally validated e-certificates after qualifying exit exam upon the completion of this course. The details of this workshop are available on the University’s Website www.cup.edu.in.

June, 22,2020


Most Popular

Google Play Store