Home Punjab Inter-Varsity Football Tournament Men Concludes at DBU

Inter-Varsity Football Tournament Men Concludes at DBU

Inter-Varsity Football Tournament Men Concludes at DBU
Dr Zora Singh honouring the chief guest at North Zone Inter-Varsity Football Tournament Men Concluded that at DBU
Social Share

It’s not the team with the best players that win, it’s the players with the best team that wins, said Gurpreet Singh GP (MLA, Bassi Pathana). He was the Chief Guest on the final day of North Zone Inter-varsity Football Tournament (Men) being held at Desh Bhagat University. He encouraged all the players to be passionate about their game, improve it with practice and promote sports in every possible way.

Chancellor Dr. Zora Singh presiding over the Prize Distribution function informed that a total of 64 teams from different universities from all over India participated in the annual tournament of Association of Indian Universities (AIU).

Winners of North Zone Inter-Varsity Football Tournament Men that Concluded at DBU

Kashmir Singh AGM, Indian Overseas Bank and Harinder Bhambri (Dist. President) graced the occasion as Guest of Honour. They motivated all the teams to do their best and win medals for the country. They appreciated all the teams for their excellent performance. Vice-Chancellor Dr. Virinder Singh thanked the chief guest and all other guests.

The final matches of the tournament were particularly thrilling and breath-taking and players were struggling hard for even a single point. In the final, Punjabi University beat Punjab University and lifted the trophy. The result of the tournament was as under:

  1. Punjabi University, Patiala (First Position)
  2. Panjab University, Chandigarh (Second Position)
  3. Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar (Third Position)
  4.  Desh Bhagat University Mandi Gobindgarh (Fourth Position)

The Tournament was a source of great education and entertainment for the students and staff of different universities. All the players and coaches of the teams admired the arrangements made by the host university. Dalbir Singh (Punjabi University), Dr. Bhupinder Singh (Coach, Punjab University) ,Dr. Jaspal and Pardeep Kumar (Coaches, GNDU)and Deepak (Coach, DBU) were especially honoured on the occasion. The officials of sponsored companies and the members of Football official committee sent by AIU were also honoured for their services during the tourney. This event was organised under the supervision of Deputy Director (Sports) and Coach Nandan Singh. Sarabjeet Singh from Railways was the match commissioner of the tournament.